Galileo Circle Fellows - Newest

College of Science Dean Joaquin Ruiz is pleased to announce the 2014 Galileo Circle Fellows and Galileo Circle Dean’s Award Recipients

2014 Galileo Circle Fellows
2014 Galileo Circle Fellows Hoshin V. Gupta (L) and Michael F. Brown (© 2013 FOTOSMITH)

These awards, established through the generosity of Galileo Circle members, recognize outstanding accomplishments in academic scholarship. Each Fellow receives $5,000 and lifetime membership in the Galileo Circle.

Galileo Circle Fellows are the epitome of the academic scholar, with a deep understanding over a broad range of science, a willingness to think in a truly interdisciplinary way, and an ability to inspire colleagues and students alike.

The 2014 Galileo C​ircle Fellows

Hoshin V. Gupta
Professor of Hydrology and Water Resources
Tucson Electric Power Galileo Circle Fellow

Professor Gupta is a hydrologist and systems theorist with a strong philosophical bent and exceptional technical skills in complex algorithm development. He is recognized internationally as a leader in systems methods for reconciling models. The focus of Dr. Gupta’s research has been to develop and apply systems analysis, information theory and mathematical modeling to hydrological, hydro-meteorological, climate and environmental science problems. Dr. Gupta also has worked on improving the integration of hydrologic science into decision-making and policy. He is a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union and was recently awarded the 2014 Dalton Medal of the European Geophysical Union.

Michael F. Brown
Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Research Corporation Galileo Circle Fellow

Professor Brown is a leading authority on the use of solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy and related biophysical methods to study liquid crystals, membrane lipids, and membrane proteins. He has devoted much of his career to discovering the mechanisms underlying key cellular processes and revealing how the molecular dynamics and structure of proteins and membrane lipids underlie biomembrane function. Dr. Brown is also well known for his pioneering research on the photochemistry and photobiology of light receptors. Among his many honors, Dr. Brown has been the recipient of the Avanti Award in Lipids from the Biophysical Society and is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Biophysical Society, and the American Physical Society.

Related Websites

Galileo Circle Members - All