Academic Advising

 

College of Science Office of Student Services
For academic advising related to your major, please contact the advisor from the table below. Please note that advising locations are specific to the major/department.

Student Services Office; Gould-Simpson 1017; 520-621-8128; science@email.arizona.edu

We assist students on a walk-in basis with:

  • Help with general and medical petitions
  • Requesting a schedule change after the posted deadlines
  • Extension of Incomplete grade
  • Questions regarding academic probation, academic recovery, academic disqualification or dismissal
  • Requests for SCI 195a enrollment, U-TURN program, Making the Grade workshop
  • Peer Advising program in the College of Science
  • Questions about Leave of Absence/ Back 2 UA
  • Questions about Second Start and/or Academic Renewal
  • Help with general questions regarding deadlines, policies, procedures, or other questions/issues not handled in your major department

Walk-in Hours and Advisors for fall 2019 (except for priority registration dates)
Monday thru Friday 9am to 12pm & 1pm to 4:30pm (closed at 5pm)

  • Monday: Rachel Ridlen (NSCS)
  • Tuesday: MEgan Cunnington (BIOL/EEB)
  • Wednesday: David Smith (PHYS/ASTR)
  • Thursday: Debra Armand-Cade (CHEM/BIOC)
  • Friday: Andrea Palacio (SLHS)

Robin Rarick, Senior Director, Academic Advising
(520) 621-8128; rrarick@email.arizona.edu

Tharini Wijeweera, Assistant Director, Academic Advising
(520) 621-8128; raini@email.arizona.edu


 

Major Advisor Phone Office Email
Astronomy David Smith 626-1231 Phys/Atmo Sci 261 dlsmith1@email.arizona.edu
         
         
Bioinformatics AND Biology AND Ecology & Evolutionary Biology        
(last names A-L) Megan Cunnington 626-8456 Life Sci. South 223 mac990@email.arizona.edu
(last names M-Z) David McGuiggan 621-5329 Life Sci. South 229 dmcguigg@email.arizona.edu
Chemistry & Biochemistry        
  Debra Armand-Cade 626-0605 Chemistry 210 darmandcade@email.arizona.edu
  Christine Gronowski 626-7908 Chemistry 210 christineg@email.arizona.edu
Computer Science        
(last names H-O) Alonso Minjarez 621-4632 Gould-Simpson 917 advising@cs.arizona.edu
(last names P-Z) Alex Hernandez 621-0483 Gould-Simpson 917 advising@cs.arizona.edu
(last names A-G) Rene Garciaguirre 621-2594 Gould-Simpson 917 advising@cs.arizona.edu
Hydrology & Atmospheric Science        
(Hydrology sub-plan) Martha Whitaker 621-9715 J.W. Harshbarger 226a mplw@hwr.arizona.edu
(Atmospheric Science sub-plan) Brittany Ciancerelli 621-6619 J.W. Harshbarger 224e bciance@email.arizona.edu
Geoscience Shawna Matteson 621-4845 Gould-Simpson 214 smatteson@email.arizona.edu
Mathematics/Statistics        
(majors only) Laurie Varecka 626-9837 Mathematics 217 mcenter@email.arizona.edu
(majors only) Michelle Ort 621-5106 Mathematics 221 mathcenter@math.arizona.edu
Molecular & Cellular Biology        
  Kara Dyson 621-1073 Life Sci. South 248 kdyson@email.arizona.edu
  Justin Schneider 621-4342 Life Sci. South 248 jmschnei@email.arizona.edu
Neuroscience & Cognitive Science        
(last names A-K) Alex Samoy-Alvarado 621-0384 Gould-Simpson 626 asamoy2@email.arizona.edu
(last names L-Z) Rachel Ridlen 621-3337 Gould-Simpson 628 rachelyoung@email.arizona.edu
No Major Selected or Undecided in Science Tharini Wijeweera 621-8128 Gould-Simpson 1017 raini@email.arizona.edu
Physics David Smith 626-1231 Phys/Atmo Sci 356 dlsmith1@email.arizona.edu
Psychology AND Psychological Science        
AZ ONLINE ONLY Melanie Lipton 621-7439 Psychology 312 melanielipton@email.arizona.edu
(last names A-F) Randy Yazzi 621-7439 Psychology 312 yazzir@email.arizona.edu
(last names G-M)
& all Honors)
Keri Bishop 621-7439 Psychology 312 kerib@email.arizona.edu
(last names N-Z) Shelley Bernstein 621-7439 Psychology 312 shelleyb@email.arizona.edu
Speech, Language, & Hearing Sciences Andrea Palacio 621-6680 Speech Building 220A apalacio@email.arizona.edu

 

 

Mobile Menu