Academic Advising

Each major department within the College of Science offers excellent academic advising services to its students. In addition, the College of Science Office of Student Services provides general support to all major departments within the College. Advisors in this office assist students in selecting a Science major if they are undecided and provide General Education and transfer credit advising to students in majors without professional advisors. General petitions, late change petitions, leave of absence, and other academically related requests are usually handled through this office.

College of Science Office of Student Services
Walk-in office hours:
Monday through Friday: 8:30-11:45 am and 1:00-4:30 pm
Other times by appointment only
Location: Gould-Simpson 1017
Phone: (520) 621-8128
E-Mail: science@email.arizona.edu

Major advisors and are listed below. For advising questions or to declare a major, please contact the advisor for the major in which you are interested.

Robin Rarick, Director, Academic Advising and Student Services
(520) 621-8128; rrarick@email.arizona.edu

Major

Advisor

Phone

Office

Email

Astronomy

Yancy Shirley & faculty advisors

626-3666

SO 308

Yshirley@as.arizona.edu For other faculty advisors see: https://www.as.arizona.edu/advisors  

Biology (General)

Meredith Larrabee

626-2609

BIOW 310

larrabee@email.arizona.edu 

  Sarah Kortessis 626-2609 BIW 310 sarahkortessis@email.arizona.edu

 Chemistry& Biochemistry

 

 

 

 

(last names A-L) Jennie Vander Hooven 626-0605 CHEM 210 jvanderhoov@email.arizona.edu
(last names M-Z) Martin Marquez 626-7908 CHEM 210 martinmarquez@email.arizona.edu

Pre-Computer Science & Computer Science

Christina Dentel

621-4632

GS 901

cdentel@email.arizona.edu

  Amy Dreweatt 621-4632 GS 901 amyd3@email.arizona.edu 

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Liz Oxford

626-2609

BIOW 310

oxforda@email.arizona.edu

Environmental Hydrology & Water Resources

Martha Whitaker

621-9715

Harshbarger 226A

mplw@hwr.arizona.edu

Geoscience

Anne Chase

621-6004

GS 210

achase@email.arizona.edu

Information Science Technology/Art

Danielle Embry

621-0363

GS 917

advising@sista.arizona.edu

Integrated Science

Brian Smith

621-8128

GS 1017

bsmith@email.arizona.edu

Mathematics (majors only please)

Laurie Varecka

626-9837

MATH 222

mcenter@math.arizona.edu

Molecular & Cellular Biology

Marisa Lester

621-1073

LSS 248

marisal1@email.arizona.edu

 

Amy Dreweatt

621-4342

LSS 248

amyd3@email.arizona.edu

Neuroscience & Cognitive Science (including pre-majors)

Shawna Matteson

 621-0384

GS 628 

smatteson@email.arizona.edu

No Major selected/Undecided Science

Brian Smith

621-8128

GS 1017

bsmith@email.arizona.edu

Physics

Drew Milsom & faculty advisors

626-0259

PAS 260

academic@physics.arizona.edu

Psychology

 

 

 

 

(last names A-D)

Liz Sandoval-Marchand

621-7439

PSYC 312

esandmar@email.arizona.edu

(last names E-L)
& all Honors psychology majors

Keri Bishop

621-7439

PSYC 312

kerib@email.arizona.edu

(last names M-R)

Christy Ball

621-7439

PSYC 312

christyw@email.arizona.edu

(last names S-Z)

Shelley Bernstein

621-7439

PSYC 312

shelleyb@email.arizona.edu

Science Education

Ingrid Novodvorsky

626-4187

PAS 378

novod@email.arizona.edu

Speech, Language, & Hearing Sciences

Tharini Wijeweera

621-8128

GS 1017

raini@email.arizona.edu