Academic Advising

Each major department within the College of Science offers excellent academic advising services to its students. In addition, the College of Science Office of Student Services provides general support to all major departments within the College. Advisors in this office assist students in selecting a Science major if they are undecided and provide General Education and transfer credit advising to students in majors without professional advisors. General petitions, late change petitions, leave of absence, and other academically related requests are usually handled through this office.

College of Science Office of Student Services

During priority registration, please consult the table below to contact your major advisor. Walk-in services in the Science Advising Office are limited to picking up forms, submitting petitions, and most other non-advising services. For course registration, please make an appointment with your academic advisor or consult the walk-in times for your major department.

For undecided majors, you must make an appointment with Raini as she is not available for walk-ins due to pre-scheduled meetings and project work. raini@email.arizona.edu

Monday through Friday: 9am to 11:30am and 1:30-4pm
Other times by appointment only
Location: Gould-Simpson 1017
Phone: (520) 621-8128
E-Mail: science@email.arizona.edu

Major advisors and are listed below. For advising questions or to declare a major, please contact the advisor for the major in which you are interested.

Robin Rarick, Director, Academic Advising and Student Services
(520) 621-8128; rrarick@email.arizona.edu

Major

Advisor

Phone

Office

Email

Astronomy

Faculty advisors

 

 

For a list of advisors see: https://www.as.arizona.edu/advisors  
Bioinformatics        
  Meredith Larrabee 626-8456 Life Sciences South 223 larrabee@email.arizona.edu
  Sarah Kortessis 626-2609 Life Sciences South 229 sarahkortessis@email.arizona.edu

Biology (General) AND Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Meredith Larrabee

626-8456

Life Sciences South 233

larrabee@email.arizona.edu 

  Sarah Kortessis 626-2609 Life Sciences South 229 sarahkortessis@email.arizona.edu

Chemistry & Biochemistry

 

 

 

 

(last names A-L) Megan Cunnington 626-0605 Chemistry 210 mac990@email.arizona.edu
(last names M-Z) Martin Marquez 626-7908 Chemistry 210 martinmarquez@email.arizona.edu

Pre-Computer Science & Computer Science

       
         
 

Chelsea Skotnicki

626-8470

Gould-Simpson 917

cskotnicki@email.arizona.edu

Environmental Hydrology & Water Resources Martha Whitaker 621-9715 J.W. Harshbarger  226a mplw@hwr.arizona.edu

Geoscience

       
(last names A-L) Emily Alexander 621-4845 Gould-Simpson 214 emalex13@email.arizona.edu
(last names M-Z) Anne Chase 621-6004 Gould-Simpson 210 achase@email.arizona.edu

Information Science Technology/Art
(
moved to College of Social and Behavioral Sciences as of July 1, 2015)

 

 

 

 

Mathematics (majors only please)

Laurie Varecka

626-9837

MATH 222

mcenter@math.arizona.edu

Molecular & Cellular Biology

     

 

  Marisa Lester 621-1073 Life Sciences South 248

marisal1@email.arizona.edu

  Justin Schneider 621-1073 Life Sciences South 248 jmschnei@email.arizona.edu
Neuroscience & Cognitive Science (and Pre-major) Last names A-F
Becca Van Sickler
621-6643 Gould-Simpson 624 beccav@email.arizona.edu
  Last names G-Z
Shawna Matteson
621-0384 Gould-Simpson 628 smatteson@email.arizona.edu

No Major selected/Undecided Science

Tharini Wijeweera

621-8128

Gould-Simpson 1017

raini@email.arizona.edu

Physics

Drew Milsom & faculty advisors

626-0259

Physics & Atmospheric Science 260

ugrad-advising@physics.arizona.edu

Psychology

 

 

 

 

(last names A-D)

Liz Sandoval-Marchand

621-7439

PSYC 312

esandmar@email.arizona.edu

(last names E-L)
& all Honors psychology majors

Keri Bishop

621-7439

PSYC 312

kerib@email.arizona.edu

(last names M-R)

Christy Ball

621-7439

PSYC 312

christyw@email.arizona.edu

(last names S-Z)

Shelley Bernstein

621-7439

PSYC 312

shelleyb@email.arizona.edu

Science Education
(
not accepting new majors starting summer 2015)

Ingrid Novodvorsky

626-4187

Physics & Atmospheric Science 378

novod@email.arizona.edu

Speech, Language, & Hearing Sciences

Lindsay Morrell

626-6680

Speech Building room 220A

lmorrell@email.arizona.edu